Lyft Vehicle Requirements 2019

September 19, 2019 0 Comments

Is my car allowed for Lyft? What model vehicle do I need to drive for Lyft? Can I drive for Lyft with my 10 year old car?

Looking to drive for Lyft? Your first step would be checking if your vehicle meets Lyft’s minimum requirements. Lyft has created guidelines for what types of cars are eligible within each Lyft service and we have gathered these guidelines and the accepted makes and models below.

First, for all Lyft services there is a standard set of mimimum vehicle requirements, listed below.

Minimum Requirements for all Lyft Services

  • Meet your city’s vehicle age requirement (This varies but in most places if your car is less than 15 years old, it should meet the Lyft vehicle requirements for your state or market)
  • Have at least four doors, not including jump doors
  • Offer five to eight seats, including the driver’s (No full-sized vans such as 12 or 15-passenger vans like Ford Transit and E-Series, GMC Savana)
  • Good condition with no significant cosmetic damage
  • No salvage or rebuilt title
  • No commercial branding

Additional Requirements for Lyft Plus, Premier, and Lux

In addition to the above criteria, Lyft Plus, Premier, and Lux vehicles have some further requirements.

Lyft Plus

Lyft Plus is the service designed for larger groups.

  • Vehicle must seat at least 6 passengers
  • It is important to note that Lyft Plus drivers receive requests for both Plus and regular rides. In other words, you can’t be a Lyft Plus only driver.

Lyft Premier

Lyft Premier is a higher-end Lyft service for customers who are willing to pay more to get a ride in a nicer vehicle.

  • 2009 or newer
  • Luxury vehicles from these brands: Acura, Audi, BMW, Cadillac, Infiniti, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lexus, Lincoln, Mercedes-Benz

Lyft Lux

Lyft Lux is Lyft’s highest-end service.

  • 2011 or newer
  • Black exterior
  • Premium interior: Leather or leather-like material only. No cloth interiors.

Earn more money with CargoSponsored
Lastly, see the specific makes and models that Lyft allows for each service below. If you do not see your car listed but believe your vehicle meets all of the above criteria contact Lyft directly as they may make an exception.

Eligible Models by Vehicles

While there’s no publicly available list of vehicles for Lyft and Lyft Plus, we assume the approved vehicles list is similar to the UberX and UberXL car lists.

AlfaRomeo Giulia
AudiA4, A4 Allroad, A6, A7, A8, Q3, Q5, Q7, RS4, RS7, S4, S6, S7, S8, SQ5
BentleyContinental Flying Spur, Mulsanne
BMW3 Series, 5 Series, 4 Series Gran Coupe, 6 Series Gran Coupe, 7 Series, ActiveHybrid 5, ActiveHybrid 7, ActiveHybrid X6, ALPINA B6 Gran Coupe, ALPINA B7, M5, M6 Gran Coupe, X1, X3, X4, X5, X6
BuickEnclave, Envision, LaCrosse, Regal, Regal Sportback
CadillacATS, ATS-V, CT6, CTS, CTS Wagon, CTS-V, CTS-V Wagon, DTS, Escalade, Escalade ESV, SRX, STS, XT5, XTS
ChevroletSuburban, Tahoe
FordExpedition, Explorer
GenesisG80, G90
GMCAcadia, Acadia Denali, Acadia Limited, Terrain, Yukon, Yukon Denali, Yukon Limited
HyundaiEquus, Genesis
InfinitiFX, FX35, FX50, G37, JX, M, M35, M37, M45, M56, Q40, Q45, Q50, Q70, QX, QX50, QX56, QX60, QX70, QX80
JaguarF-Pace, X-Type, XF, XJ
Land RoverDiscovery, LR4, Range Rover, Range Rover Evoque, Range Rover Sport, Range Rover Velar
LexusES, GS, GX, IS, LS, LX, NX, RX
LincolnContinental, MKC, MKS, MKT, MKX, MKZ, Navigator, Town Car
MaseratiGhibli, Levante, Quattroporte
Mercedes–Benz300-Class, 350-Class, 400-Class, 420-Class, 500-Class, 560-Class, C-Class, CLA-Class, CLS-Class, E-Class, E55 AMG, G-Class, GL-Class, GLA-Class, GLC-Class, GLE-Class, GLK-Class, GLS-Class, M-Class, ML55 AMG, Maybach, R-Class, S-Class
PorscheCayenne, Macan
Rolls-RoyceGhost, Phantom
TeslaModel 3, Model S, Model X
ToyotaLand Cruiser, Sequoia
VolkswagonAtlas, Touareg
VolvoS60, S80, S90, XC60
Make        Model
AudiA6, A7, A8, Q7, RS7, S6, S7, S8
BentleyContinental Flying Spur, Mulsanne
BMW5 Series, 6 Series Gran Coupe, 7 Series, ActiveHybrid 5, ActiveHybrid 7, Alpina B6 Gran Coupe, Alpina B7, M5, M6 Gran Coupe, X5
BuickEnclave, LaCrosse
CadillacCT6, CTS, CTS Wagon, CTS-V, CTS-V Wagon, Escalade, Escalade ESV, SRX, XT5, XTS
ChevroletSuburban, Tahoe
GenesisG80, G90
GMCAcadia Denali, Acadia Limited, Yukon, Yukon Denali, Yukon XL
InfinitiFX, JX, M, M37, M56, Q70, QX, QX56, QX60, QX80
JaguarF-Pace, XF, XJ-Series
Land RoverDiscovery, LR4, Range Rover, Range Rover Sport, Range Rover Velar
LexusES 250, ES 300h, ES 350, GS 350, GS 450h, GS 460, GS F, GX 460, GX 470, LS 460, LS 600h L, LX 570, RX 350, RX 450h
LincolnContinental, MKS, MKT, MKX, MKZ, Navigator
MaseratiGhibli, Levante, Quattroporte
Mercedes-BenzE-Class, E55 AMG, G-Class, GL-Class, GLS-Class, M-Class, Maybach, ML55 AMG, R-Class, S-Class
Rolls RoyceGhost, Phantom
TeslaModel 3, Model S, Model X
ToyotaLand Cruiser, Sequoia
VolvoS80, S90, XC90

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.